(1971) The Songwainers – The Songwainers

Argo issue number: ZFB 31
Producer: Frederick Woods
Engineer: Iain Churches
Cover photo: Donald Bott

Availability: long deleted, never released on CD

Ken Langsbury – baritone
Ron Taylor – tenor
Dave Stephenson – bass


Side One
1 Robin Hood and the Three Squires
2 The Three Knights
3 The Deadly Wars
4 Stormy
5 Tom O’Bedlam’s Song
6 Old Jonas

Side Two
1 News From Holland’s Leager (words adapted from broadsheets by The Songwainers)
2 Bright Phoebus
3 The Old And New Courtier
4 The False Fox (tune Songwainers)
5 The Glittering Dewdrops
6 George Ridler’s Oven
7 John Barleycorn (tune Schulz)

~ by folkcatalogue on December 2, 2010.

5 Responses to “(1971) The Songwainers – The Songwainers”

  1. Excellent harmony singing from a little know group.

  2. had this on vinyl for many years and would love to have an mp3 of it if anybody has!!

  3. Can any kind soul put this album on youtube? My LP is beyond playing, and they bring back so many happy memories.

  4. AGREE!! Would love to get a copy of this quality album

  5. Great album, despite looking like one by The Yetties. Really imaginative harmony arrangements and a diverse repertoire

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: